HomeCommunity > Steering Committee

GPAI Steering Committee

The Steering Committee is an elected body comprised of five government members from the Council and six non-government representatives from the GPAI Multistakeholder Experts Group Plenary. It implements the direction of the Council, including development of the work plan and establishment of Working Groups, and provides substantive guidance and direction to the GPAI Secretariat and Centres of Expertise, as needed.

The Government of India will co-chair the 2023-2024 GPAI Steering Committee with the Multistakeholder Experts Group Plenary Chair.

Committee members

Steering Committee Co-Chairs

Lead Council Chair, Government of India representative

Abhishek Singh
Digital India Corporation


Outgoing Support Chair, Government of Japan representative

Yoichi Iida
Deputy Director General for G7/G20 Relations
Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications


Incoming Support Chair, Government of Serbia representative

Uroš Poluga 


Chair of GPAI Multistakeholder Experts Group Plenary

Inma Martinez
Technology pioneer and AI scientist
Independent expert in industrial and societal digital transformation


Steering Committee Delegates

1st government seat, France representative

Jérôme Brunet-Possenti


2nd government seat, Canada representative

Mark Schaan


3rd government seat, Senegal representative

Aissatou Jane Ndiaye


Science representative 

Kudakwashe Dandajena
African Institute for Mathematical Sciences (AIMS) and University of the Western Cape


Industry representative 

Andreas Liebl
Managing Director, Unternehmer TUM


Civil society representative 

Lucía Velasco
School of Transnational Governance
European University Institute


International organisation representative

Francesca Rossi
Incoming President, Association for the Advancement of AI


Labour/trade union representative 

Nicolas Blanc
National Digital Delegate


Permanent observer